--vide--

A ride on your bike



 

 

 In front of Côté Océan is a 200 meter bike lane to the ocean and to the boardwalk that extends 50 km between La Rochelle and Rocheport.  

 

 

  • Along the coast: Côté Océan to La Rochelle and Côté Océan to Rochefort

This bike ride is very flat and enjoyable by all levels and ages!  The ride can take anywhere between 30 minutes and 2 hours depending on your destination.

Riding along the coast from the port of La Rochelle, you can reach the beaches of Aytré and Châtelaillon and along the way, the tip of the marsh of Chay to Angoulins-sur-Mer is an ideal place for bird watching. Right after Châtelaillon beach is the picturesque port of Boucholeurs, well known for oyster harvesting, and is definitely worth a stop.

For the athletic types, the bike path continues to Rochefort where you can see the typical fishing cabains/huts of the Charentais region. These huts are built at the end of a wooden platform to reach the shallow waters. A square net is suspended that is lifted using a pulley system.

 

 

  • The Marais Poitevin by bike

 

With the many routes possible, It is easy to spend two full days discovering the Marais Poitevin and its beautiful scenery, canals and architectural heritage.


One possible loop extends about 70km of flat and well maintained trails. In order to not get lost in the maze of the canals, be sure to bring a map of the trails with you (available in all tourist offices in the region and also at the reception of Côté Océan).

Several interesting stops :

The port town of Arçais and then in the direction of Saint-George-de-Rex.

The village is situated among the canals, the planted poplar and wild marshes, woods and dotted with islands.


Then you can head towards Sainte-Sabine followed by the the village of La-Sevre.

Follow the canal in direction of Coulon passing through the Softerie. The trail is flat and relaxing (with very nice lighting). You can dine or have a drink in Coulon, which is the capital of the Marais. The village is particularly charming, with its port maraîchin, its market and mansions.

From Coulon, you can walk along the canals towards the south to reach the Garette where the river, Vieille Sèvre, widens. You can then cross the countryside to get to Vanneau Irleau. With its beautiful church, its shaded paths and wooden bridges, this village is a perfect lunch stop.

You can then continue the road to Sainte-Sabine before returning on the road to Arçais.



 







View Larger Map





Copyright © Côté-Océan - all rights reserved

--vide--

Balades à Vélos



 

Devant Côté Océan passe une piste cyclable menant à 200 mètres à l'océan et au parcours côtier de plus de 50km reliant La Rochelle à Rochefort. 

 

  • Le long du littoral : De Côté Océan à La Rochelle  et de Côté Océan à Rochefort

 

Très plate, cette promenade dans un sens ou dans l'autre est accessible à tous et durera entre 30 minutes et 2h selon votre destination. Les plages sont en effet proches mais vous pouvez en allant vers Chatelaillon pousser votre promenade jusqu'à Rochefort.

Depuis le port de La Rochelle, on peut rejoindre les plages d'Aytré et Châtelaillon en suivant le littoral. En chemin, la pointe du marais du Chay à Angoulins-sur-Mer est un lieu idéal pour observer les oiseaux. Peu après la plage de Châtelaillon, le pittoresque port ostréicole des Boucholeurs mérite un détour.

Pour les sportifs, la piste continue jusqu'à Rochefort. On peut alors admirer des cabanons de pêche au carrelet. Ces cabanes, typiques du pays charentais, sont construites au bout d'un ponton de bois afin d'atteindre des hauts fonds. On y suspend un filet carré relevé à l'aide d'un système de poulies.

 

  • Marais Poitevin  : 

 

Parmi les nombreux itinéraires envisageables il est possible de passer deux jours  à découvrir le  Marais Poitevin et  ses paysages, canaux et patrimoine architectural.

 

La boucle proposée s'étend sur environ 70km de sentiers plats et bien entretenus. Prévoyez un plan des pistes cyclables (disponible dans tous les offices de tourisme de la région et à la réception de Côté Océan) afin d'être tout à fait autonome et surtout de ne pas vous perdre dans ce dédale de canaux. Vous trouverez aisément des loueurs de vélos.

Quelques étapes :

Le port du village d'Arçais, puis  direction  Saint-George-de-Rex. 

Le village se situe à la rencontre entre les canaux alignés et plantés de peupliers et le marais sauvage, boisé et parsemé d'îlots.

Vous pourrez vous diriger ensuite vers Sainte-Sabine puis vers Le-village-de-La Sèvre.

Longer le canal en direction de Coulon en passant par La Softerie. Le sentier emprunté est plat et reposant ( très joli jeu de lumière )  Vous pourrez diner ensuite à Coulon, capitale du Marais. Le village est particulièrement plaisant, avec son port maraîchin, son marché et ses maisons de maîtres.

 


Depuis Coulon, vous longerez les canaux vers le Sud pour atteindre La Garette où la rivière Vieille Sèvre s'élargit. Vous traverserez la campagne pour rallier Le Vanneau Irleau. Avec sa jolie église, ses sentiers ombragés et ses ponts de bois, ce village constitue une parfaite étape pour le déjeuner.

Vous reprendrez ensuite la route vers Sainte-Sabine avant de retrouver le chemin d'Arçais.






View Larger Map



Vacances dernière minute

Copyright © Côté-Océan - all rights reserved